top of page

Story: Breathe (000002)


Belle is laying in a twin daybed that has a trundle, her eyes shut. The trundle is bare-mattressed with a 6", navy mattress. The daybed has a plush, 11" mattress, and orange-dominant, Navajo bedding featuring zigzag stripes, and diamonds.

Tahoma enters Belle's 10' x 8' bedroom; and, sits half-lotus on the side of her bed near to her; eating a plate of cheesy, scrambled eggs; sausage links; and, bacon strips.

Belle looks at Tahoma.

Tahoma explains inbetween bites, "Your mother let me in. But, she said no woohoo under her roof. She liked the flowers I gave her."

Belle wonders with furrowed brows, 'Why are flowers always for her?"

"Does she like flowers?"

"I don't know. But, she called sunflowers ugly. So, what's your story? I'm in adult high school because I didn't plan on living long enough to ever be an adult, because my home life is abusive, and doesn't care about my education."

"Racism, and anti-mutant sentiments."

"Yeah, I'd imagine racism is worse for a Native American than a Slav, as Slavs are usually considered white."

"Are Slavs ever not considered white? They're typically called Eastern Europeans."

"Slavs were traditionally classified as Northern Asians, and a lot of white supremacists still see it that way."

"Ah. I see. I guess I can see it looking at your face, and body."

Belle slips her sandals on, only to find her heels are sticking off the backs.

Belle removes a sandal, and sits on the bed beside Tahoma, looking between her sandal, and Tahoma's cowboy boot.

Tahoma eats slowly as he watches Belle try on the sandal again to it not fitting again.

Belle: "Are these yours?"

Tahoma slowly shakes his head side to side, "No."

Belle locates a pair of black Skechers lowtops, and tries to wear one, finding that it's too small.

Tahoma laughs, "Do you play with Pym Particle, or something?"

"Like I could afford that!"

She exits the room barefoot, holding her shoes, "Mom! I outgrew my footwear again!"

Tahoma's eyes widen in fear.

Tahoma sets his plate down, and tries to slip out of the house, but instead walks into being face to face with Belle.

Belle's mother calls from the master bedroom, "Tahoma, can you stop at Walmart on the way to school, so she can get some new sandals?"

Tahoma: "Are you an adult?"

Belle: "Of course. I'm going through some changes. I was born with an inhibited Y chromosome, and it's trying to come alive since a little before thirty."

"Oh. Okay. Is that weird that I'm attracted to you, or are you okay with that?"

Belle blushes, "Yeah, you can like me."

"Oh. Okay." Tahoma smiles.

Tahoma reaches his right hand to Belle's left cheek, and looks into his eyes.

Tahoma slowly moves in, closing his eyes, and Belle follows suit. They kiss.

"Excuse me!" Her mother shouts angrily from the master bedroom behind Belle.

Tahoma exits the kiss blushing, "I'll finish my breakfast, so we can get you new sandals before school."


6 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page